Speaker of Parliament finally declares Mensa Bonsu as Majority Leader

The debate on which Member of Parliament leads the majority and minority has finally been settled by the Speaker of Parliament, Rt. Hon Alban Kingsford Bagbin.

The Speaker on Friday, January 22, 2021 declared Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu as the Majority Leader and Tamale South MP, Haruna Iddrisu as the Minority Leader in Parliament.

According to Mr. Bagbin, he ruled by the Standing Orders of Parliament and he will always stick to the orders at all times.

The Speaker of Parliament ruled last week that with the association of Independent MP, Hon. Andrew Asiamah Amoako the NPP forms Majority Group in the House.

Speaking in Parliament today he said, “…The Standing Orders further provide that the Majority Group will be lead by a leader and that leader is referred to as Majority Leader and Order 160 and Order 168 demands that the Business Committee and the House Committee be chaired by the Majority Leader, that is the standing orders we have now and I am guided by that, I am bounded by it…

“So please, don’t keep confusing the public.

“So the Honourable Osei-Kyei-Mensah Bonsu is the Majority Leader, the Honourable Haruna Iddrisu is the Minority Leader”.